MPLA wins general elections with 51.07 percent of the vote. UNITA wins 44.05 percent


The provisional results were released this Thursday by the spokesman for the National Electoral Commission (CNE), Lucas Quilundo, at a time when 97.3 percent of polling stations were being scrutinized, so there should be no substantial changes, he said.

The Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola (MPLA) elects 124 deputies and the National Union for the Total Independence of Angola (UNITA) holds 90 parliamentary seats.

The historic National Liberation Front of Angola (FNLA), the Social Renewal Party and the new Humanist Party of Angola, the only one led by a woman (Bela Malaquias) elect two deputies each and the CASA-CE coalition no longer has parliamentary representation.