Ahead of the swearing-in of President Nana Akufo Addo as President of Ghana today, the country’s new hung parliament has elected Alban Kingsford Bagbin as the new speaker of the 8th parliament of the 4th republic. He was sworn in as speaker of Ghana’s 8th parliament Thursday morning by chief justice Anim Yeboah after an acrimonious Election process.

President Akufo Addo won reelection in the  December 7 elections in Ghana but his ruling NPP party failed to secure a clear majority of seats. The two main parties; NDC/NPP secured 137 seats each with one independent member of parliament elected.

Lots of drama characterized the election of the speaker of parliament with MPs wrestling each other. One ruling party MP Got a mob beating after he snatched and run off with a ballot paper during a rancorous process that lasted throughout the night.

Two MPs belonging to the ruling NPP made it possible for the opposition to elect a speaker of parliament. While one voted for the opposition candidate,  the other spoilt his ballot in a moment of indecision. NPP MPs have vowed to finish out and punish the rebel MPs.

President Nana Akufo Addo will be sworn in as President of Ghana for a second and final term later today.