President of Ghana Nana Addo-Danquah Akufo Addo has won re-election to form a new government for a final four-year term. This follows a final declaration by the independent electoral commission of the results of the December 7 2020 general elections held in the West African nation.

Ghana’s Electoral commissioner Jean Mensah made the declaration Wednesday evening promoting rampturous jubilation from supporters of the ruling NPP party.

With almost 100% polling stations reporting, Nana Akufo-Addo leads by 6,730413 (51.519%) whilst John Dramani Mahama trails with 6214889  (47.366%). Over 17 million voters were expected to vote.

The competition over legislative seats has been the focus of the two main political parties. The Green regions versus the Blue regions. With 275 seats up for grabs, the ruling NPP obtained 137 seats  while NPP also obtained 137 with 1 independent MP leaning with the ruling NPP.

Earlier on Wednesday, the nation’s JOY NEWS projected Nana Akufo Addo as winner with 51.32% of the total popular vote casts.

Free, Fair, Transparent Elections

All observers have agreed that the 2020 elections in Ghana were free, fair and transparent. A novel idea of increased number of polling stations eliminated queues and made voting easy in the midst of a pandemic.