Tanzania’s National Electoral Commission (NEC) has reinstated parliamentary candidates in three constituencies, revoking earlier decisions that Chama Cha Mapinduzi (CCM) aspirants passed through without opposition.

A statement by NEC released on Wednesday shows that a total of 67 candidates have been reinstated while 39 others had their appeals dismissed. The nominations of 59 aspirants have been maintained.

A total of 165 appeals were filed by aspirants to the electoral body after the process, the electoral commission says.

As a result, CCM parliamentary aspirants  Vita Kawawa (Namtumbo), Geofrey Pinda (Kavuu) and Zedi Jumanne (Bukene), who were declared unopposed winners, will now have to face opposition candidates.

In Namtumbo Constituency, Mr. Kawawa will face Ms. Bonifasia Mapunda (ACT Wazalendo) and Ms. Zamda Ngonyani (Chadema) while Chadema contestants Mr. Stephen Hamis and Lumola Kahumbi have been reinstated for Kavuu and Bekene Constituencies respectively. Source: CGTN Africa